12×12 Layout – Eilean Donan Castle

Since our last camping holiday in 2013 to Fort William, I have had this photograph printed and have wanted to do something with it as I love the almost silhouette image of Eilean Donan Castle.

I have wanted to scrapbook this photograph but don’t have a lot of experience in working with photographs printed in a 6x8inch size but this week I decided to go for it.

At our recent Crop Central on Saturday 3rd June 2017, we received our Kaisercraft Bombay Sunset Layout kit which was provided by the wonderful Charmed Cards And Crafts – this kit is stunning, everything from the paper choices to the embellishments, I knew I wanted to do something special with it.

I decided that this layout kit was perfect to document this photograph which I have had for so long but not used, so here is the layout I chose to create:

I chose to use a 12x12inch white cardstock as my base to ensure that the colours and the photograph were the main focus of the layout, as I felt using a coloured background would detract from the black and white photograph.

I started but cutting my photograph into segments – I was nervous about this as I have never tried this technique before! As the photograph was eight inches wide I chose to cut the segments at 2.5inch left and right leaving a three inch centre panel.

Next I chose my papers to layer the photographs, I chose to use the orange woodgrain paper to mat the individual panels and then a piece of turquoise paper to mat the three photographs in place together. I really like how this looks.

I then selected the same turquoise paper, along with the gold embossed cardstock to use as a layering aspect horizontally in the centre of my page, next I used a section of the pink patterned and striped paper from the kit to add a vertical element in the centre of the page and lastly I added my mat and layered photograph on top.

I used the “Live The Dream” flag from the cut apart sheet to add to the top left of my page – this is perfect, as I absolutely love the Scottish Highlands and given the chance would move there in a second. It’s my favourite holiday destination!

I used the diecut to layer the large wood veneer element onto at the top centre of my page, and the phrase “Say Yes To New Adventures” was taken from the branding strip of one of the designer papers in this kit.

Lastly, I added my title using a pack of alphabet stickers from my stash which co-ordinated with my layout, you will see that at the bottom of the photograph (just above my title) I added a second wood veneer element from this kit.

The next Crop Central which is held in Staffordshire is taking place on Saturday 8th July 2017, so if this is something you are interested in and would like more information then I would recommend that you visit Cal Summers website which you can find >here< and look under the ‘Crop Central’ heading.

I for one cannot wait to get my hands on our next crop kit… I know it’s going to take me out of my comfort zone with regards to colour and design but I can’t wait, I think that’s half of the fun!

Thank you for reading this blog, and I hope you will pop back soon to see more of my crafty creations.

xxx Love Laura xxx

Leave a Reply

