12×12 Layout – Family Time

At our first Crop Central get-together on Saturday 6th May 2017, we received our Kaisercraft High Tea layout kit which was provided by the wonderful Charmed Cards And Crafts – it is a beautiful kit and with it’s tea party theme I thought it would be a perfect match to childhood photographs I have of a family picnic.

The colours of the photographs I chose worked perfectly with the shades of blues, greens and pinks within the kit, so it was very easy to select which papers to use.

I used the pale blue cardstock from the kit as my main layer and folded the top right corner over with a piece of floral paper behind in, held in place with one of the metal embellishments from the kit.

I then created a horizontal strip across the centre of the page with patterned paper layers before adhering my three photographs which were also matted on sections of pattern paper. Behind my centre photograph I created a tag from the floral paper the same as in the top right corner as an added element of interest.

The phrase “So many smiles begin with you” was taken from the branding strip of one of the pattern papers and sums up life with my parents perfectly… admittedly when I was younger I had my ups and downs with my parents (especially as a teenager) but who doesn’t, but looking back there were many, many happy times and special moments with them and I would never change a thing about my growing up.

I added the title “Family Time” using thickers from my stash which are from the Crate Paper Little You Collection.

I finished this page by adding a few ink splatters of Tim Holtz Distress Ink Spray in the bottom right corner, some paper flowers on opposite corners of my photographs then finally added the corner stickers as a final touch the the layout.

The next Crop Central which is held in Staffordshire is taking place on Saturday 8th July 2017, so if this is something you are interested in and would like more information then I would recommend that you visit Cal Summers website which you can find >here< and look under the ‘Crop Central’ heading.

I for one cannot wait to get my hands on our next crop kit… I know it’s going to take me out of my comfort zone with regards to colour and design but I can’t wait, I think that’s half of the fun!

Thank you for reading this blog, and I hope you will pop back soon to see more of my crafty creations.

xxx Love Laura xxx

Leave a Reply

