Pickle Paper Pack – Design Team Project for June 2017 (2)

As a member of the Pickle Paper Patch Design Team, I was sent the June Pickle Pack to work with and create some projects to give you all some inspiration so the project I am sharing with you is a little different from my normal work as it includes mixed media and a few 3D elements which wouldn’t fit in my scrapbook album. I wanted to do something which could be more of a gift for a loved one rather than a keepsake for yourself to show the versatility of the kit.

I started this project by using the DecoArt Dimensional Effects Paintable Texture Paste from this months Pickle Pack mixed with some of my Distress Oxide in Broken China to colour the texture paste.

I then applied this paste through the Echo Park heart shaped flower stencil (which also came in this months kit) in two areas of a 12×12 sheet of 300gsm white cardstock. The packaging of the texture paste states that it takes 4-12 hours to fully dry depending on how thick you use your paste, so I laid it aside to dry while I started to choose which photographs to use.

I matted and layered my three chosen photographs onto white cardstock and then onto a piece of the designer paper from this months kit. The photo on the centre is also matted onto a piece of the gorgeous printed heart vellum which I cut into a banner shape. I raised the centre photograph by adding a double layer of foam behind it so that it sits over the other two photographs.

By this time I was getting rather impatient waiting for my texture paste to dry so decided to have a “let’s try it and see what happens” moment and got out my heat gun. Using the heat gun with this DecoArt texture paste seemed to work quite well as long as you move the heat gun around plenty, but there are a couple of small areas where I held the heat in one place for too long and the paste slightly bubbled although it isn’t anything which is particularly noticable.

After I had dried my texture paste, I wanted to add some colour to the rest of the page so I took out some of my Mica sprays and added colour to the plain white cardstock using the packaging technique and ink splatters.

The ink sprays that I used were:

Dylusions Vibrant Turquoise Mica Spray

Dina Wakely Lapis Mica Spray

Tattered Angels Pearl GM Spray

I added the branding strip from one of the designer papers horizontally across the centre of my page, I chose to use this as it had some lovely words on such as memories, fun, adventure and explore.

Next I mounted my three photographs from right to left diagonally down the page so the photographs are in the opposite corners to the stenciled design. I used two sentiments from the cut-apart sheet to add to my centre embellishments which are “me+you” and “love”.

I decided to colour my chipboard laser cut flowers from my June Pickle pack in Broken China, again using my Distress Oxides. For this I applied the ink directly from the ink pad onto the chipboard.

While the ink was drying, I added the paper flowers in clusters of three at opposite corners of this layout and once the laser cut chipboard flowers were ready I added these to both clusters and also a small piece on each of the cut apart sentiments in the central section. The final touch to my chipboard flowers was to add the gorgeous Dovecraft glitter gems.

Now that my project was 99% complete there was only one thing left to do, I mounted this mixed media layout in a white 12×12 shadow box frame which finishes it off nicely I think.

Personally I feel that this project makes a beautiful home decor piece or a very unique and personal gift for a loved one and I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope you will visit again soon to see more of my crafty projects.

xxx Love Laura xxx

You can buy your monthly Pickle Pack by visiting www.picklepaperpatch.com

Follow Pickle Paper Patch on Facebook by clicking >here<

Join the team over on YouTube for some fab previews and ideas for your creative endeavors by clicking >here<

Follow Pickle Paper Patch on Instagram

Follow Pickle Paper Patch on Pinterest

Follow Pickle Paper Patch on Twitter

One comment

  1. That’s just gorgeous. Love what you’ve done with the stencil and those papers are lovely (I admit to buying some when they came out, great choice for a kit!) I do think you look like your mum.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

