12×12 Layout – Master Detective

On Saturday 8th July 2017, I attended our monthly crafters get together at Crop Central in Staffordshire which is organised and ran by the ever so lovely and talented Cal Summers.

On Cal’s website you can see a bit of what she has to say about Crop Central including upcoming dates, venue details and what’s going on for that particular month.

>Cal Summers – Crop Central<

Each month at the crop we have the option of purchasing a ‘Crop kit’ which is a fantastic papercraft kit put together based on 12×12 scrapbooking layouts, although can also be used in cardmaking, mini albums and pretty much any other papercraft you can imagine. For July 2017 the kit was the Kaisercraft collection “Master Detective” supplied by Charmed Cards And Crafts.

I will be honest with you all, the Master Detective collection is not something I was looking forward to working with – the colours and designs of the collection are very much outside of my comfort zone, but when we were told in advance what the monthly kit was and asked if we wanted to purchase it or not I decided to go ahead and challenge myself.

Green… orange… skeletons… skulls… spiders webs, yep this collection is pretty much as far outside my comfort zone as I could imagine, but I thought “what the h*ll, here goes nothing!” 😂

When we arrived at the crop on the Saturday morning and were given our kits, I was sooooo surprised as I loved it! As soon as I opened it and started to look through all of the goodies, I had instant inspiration and knew exactly what I wanted to do.

I decided that I was going to use a photograph of my Dad and me when I was little as the colours in it seemed to go well with this collection, I chose a couple of the patterned papers to layer both horizontally and vertically on my 12×12 white cardstock base, and also to layer behind my photograph.

I chose the main graphic sheet from the collection to fussy cut the skeleton and bookcase from, to use this as the main focal point alongside my photograph on the page. I also fussy cut the “Master Detective” title and three of the ‘clue’ cards.

Once I had decided on the placement of my different paper elements for this layout, I took the black mesh from the kit and added this behind my photograph layers for extra texture and interest. I also added the black feathers behind my photograph before adhering everything in place.

I also went through the embellishment pack from our kit and selected the orange ribbon, blue tassle and two metal elements.

At the top left of the photograph I used a piece of ribbon to tie through the metal key and adhered this onto the feather area, while at the bottom right I adhered the blue tassle in place before tying the orange ribbon through the metal clock and adhered this on top.

All in all, I really like how this layout came together and was surprised just how much I enjoyed working with a collection which I wouldn’t normally choose but I definitely think that it is worth stepping outside of your comfort zone from time to time and challenging yourself with your scrappy supplies – if I can do it, then anyone can do it!!

I would love to hear your feedback, both on this kit and my layout and I will be uploading more of my scrapbook layouts very soon.

You can find me over on Facebook at Eljay’s Creating Memories Journey if you would like to keep up to date with my crafty ventures.

xxx Love Laura xxx

4 comments

Leave a Reply

